Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, there has been opposite views in the ways to fight the traffic congestion. Some people are of the opinion that the government should spend on building trains and subways where as others contend that constructing more and wider roads is the best way to reduce traffic. Considering human needs and safety, I strongly believe that the government should fund the railway and subway projects for two reasons.

To begin with, trains and subways are relatively safer and secured as far as the public safety is concerned. For example, the roadways are well-developed in Texas in USA. While taking a an online driving certification test, I learned that the rate of road traffic accidents has dramatically increases in Texas in the this decade as compared to the last one costing number of precious and innocent human lives. The victims suffer from lifelong disabilities or families lose their loved ones for no reason. These painful events can be impeded to a large extend if people avoid driving cars and commute through public transportation services like trains.

In addition, development and use of local railways and subways by the civilians will curtail the environmental harms caused by the humans. Widening and increasing the driving lanes will not reduce the running cars on the road but also promote the citizens to use personal means of transport over the public ones. The fuel burned while driving the cars is realising the harmful gases in environment thus accelerating global climate change and global warming. I came across a news article recently which claims that the CO2 index has reached the alarming limit in Delhi and Bangalore in India. As repercussion the public is suffering from more pulmonary illnesses which is affecting their quality of life. It seems we humans are digging our own grave. Lately, many countries have agreed with WHO to fight the environmental pollution by developing sprawling the public transportation but unfortunately, US did not. Certainly, similar to United Kingdom, if the federal system of United States of America raises funds to build more efficient railway and subway systems all over the country, it can definitely contribute to save the global environment.

To recapitulate, I subscribe the idea of funding and constructing more railway lines by the government. This will not only ensure public safety but also fight the environmental issues.