Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

University plays a major role in shaping the student’s career. Thus, to enhance student’s experience of knowledge, some universities require students to take classes in many subjects; however, other colleges do not. Considering the benefits, I believe the universities should require the students to specialise in only one subject for the following reasons.

First of all, allowing the students to learn and master one subject will give them enough time to study for their major meticulously. As a result, this will help them hone their skills and knowledge of their speciality. Years ago, a survey conducted in the state university of Maharashtra in india demonstrates a good example for this. As the university’s results and admissions,were going down consecutively for a decade, a survey was conducted in which the students were asked about the cause of their relatively poor performance in the exams. In response, most of the student pointed out the policy of the university which made them to take multiple courses. Consequently, they were not able to focus on their majors and thus, couldn’t give their best in the tests. However, seeing the results of this survey, the university altered its regulations. Subsequently, there was an upsurge in the student’s performance seen during their evaluation. As you can see, how just focusing on one subject can enhance the student’s performance.

Moreover, specialising in one subject saves money which is required otherwise while taking multiple subjects in the college. For instance, in university, I was allowed to specialise in Geriatric physical therapy only. On the other hand, when my sister was in university, it was compulsory for her to take 2 extra courses other than her major, for which she had to pay for the tuition and the exams for those courses. This added an extra financial load on my family, as we were paying extra for the subjects other than her major, in which she was not even interested. This shows how taking extra subjects in the university could not be economical for the student and the family.

In conclusion, I support the idea that the universities should not require the students to take many courses. This will not only limit the ability of a student to perform effectively in their majors, but also increase the unreasonable cost of education. Thus the universities should consider students specialising only in one subject.