It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer

A well-developed city provides its citizens with facilities of entertainment and leisure like movie theatres, museums, water parks, shopping malls, community parks and so on. Considering our community to be a developing suburban location of the Dallas city, building a new movie theatre in our neighbourhood would be a good idea. I think it will bring more benefits for the nearby residents as explained below.

To begin with, watching movies in theatre has always been a common mode of entertainment enjoyed by the people. Convenience and accessibility to these theatres are crucial in enhancing their experience. For example, I and my husband like watching films every weekend. However, the nearest theatre is around 20 min from our house and 5 more min add up because of the traffic on the weekends. Thus, it takes almost 50 min of drive only to commute which is time-consuming and tiring. To be specific, weekends are for relaxation and not for getting more exhausted. Building a movie theatre nearby can save a lot of precious time of the residents and reduce traffic on the theatre routes.

Moreover, a theatre nearby will offer job opportunities for the teenagers of the surrounding communities. In today’s world, although challenging, yet it’s important to keep the young aged individuals away from deviant and delinquent behaviour. A recent research literature published in international Journal of Psychology claims that employment has a negative correlation with child’s deviant and delinquent behaviour. Thus, creating job opportunities for teenagers at movie theatres and similar locations could discourage delinquency, occupy their idle time in a meaningful way to earn money with work and effort, and provide them with behavioural training with positive identity.

In conclusion, I favour the plan of constructing a movie theatre in our neighbourhood. This is because this will bring entertainment at convenience for the people living nearby and because it will extend employment opportunities for the young people.