Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

We come across various forms of advertisements everyday like TV commercials, banners, flyers, newspaper, magazines and so on, which talks about consumer benefits. Some people are think that these advertisements tell a lot about the country; however, others disagree. In my view, commercials do tell about the country, for the two important reasons.

First of all, we can learn about the crises faced by the country . It talks about the issues faces by the society and how the industries can intervene by spreading public awareness about the crises or advertise products to fight those crises. For example, In India, when we go to theatre to watch a movie, before the movie begins, there is a commercial showing the increased prevalence of smoking in the country, its adverse effect on the smoker and people around them, how it can lead to fatal and incurable diseases. Moreover they also show the interviews of the victims who suffered and later quit the habit of smoking, after which how their work and personal life improved significantly after quitting. Similarly, other TV commercial gives an example of how women’s health is still a topic of concern in rural India. Unavailability of proper women sanitation during menstruation leads them towards secondary infections and diseases. Advertising Company encourages the use of their affordable sanitary napkins to prevent gynecological issues among the women below poverty line. As you can see, companies advertise their products while spreading light on the countries major concerns.

Second, the advertisements tell about the education system. For instance, I was not so familiar with the concept of online education before I came to USA. After coming here, I often came across the advertisements of various courses nearly in every professional field. Like, online business management course by St Augustine University, online courses for Physical therapist for earning credentials and so on. This shows how education is so accessible and approachable in USA, where you can work in one city and still seek course lectures, participate in class discussions, interact with classmates online from a desired remote university with in the country.

In conclusion, we can learn a lot about the country through advertisements. This is because it tells you about the major issues faced by the country, because it is used for marketing the education system in the country, which the people might not know otherwise.