It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Humans learn through different ways. Some people think that the knowledge gained from books is more important that the knowledge gained from self-experience; however, others oppose this notion. Considering the merits and demerits of both the methods of learning, I am of the opinion that knowledge gained from one’s own experience is more crucial source of learning over books for the following reasons.

To begin with, although books are of paramount importance to lay the foundation of the facts and details of that subject, however, experience gives opportunity to practice essential skills and cultivate one’s intellectual abilities. To be specific, it develops critical thinking, problem solving and analysis which can’t be developed only by reading books. For example, when I was a junior in university seeking medical studies, books gave us information about the disease conditions, its precipitating symptoms, line of investigations and course of management for each condition which was simple to comprehend. However, case presentation during the clinical posting was a real challenge. The difficult part set in when patient use to have mixed symptoms. It required us to do a critical analysis of the patient’s history, signs and investigatory findings to form a differential and eventually come to a concluding diagnosis. These postings nudged us to work on our cognitive skills and master them.

Moreover, reading books gets you degree to get you the basic job in that field. While, experience is like cherry on the top, where, years of experience in addition to the educational degree gets you high paying jobs. For Instance, after completion of my Post graduation, I got appointed as a lecturer on government medical college on the basis of my degree. As the years passed, so did my experience. After 5 years of my practice, I got hired by a Private Medical Institute with a significant hike in my salary. From this, I learned how job experience matters to progress through the professional hierarchical posts.

In conclusion, I believe knowledge by experience holds more importance than books. This is because repeated experience gives you practice to master intellectual skills and because experience is crucial in getting high salary jobs.