t has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.”

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books.

In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specifc reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is said that more you share your knowledge, the more it grows. For us, we can gain knowledge from various sources; for example reading books, working manulally on the projects, looking up on internet and the list goes on. It is not such that doing only one of them will help you to be a savant. For a person to be well versed with topics all aorund the world, be eclectic, he must be not only reading but also practicing it, sharing it with fellow collegues, applying it in day to day life.

Yes, to some extent books are important for us to gain knowledge, but we should not be limited to it. There may be various topics within book which can be difficult and for that purpose we should use the resources at our disposal.For example, a student of non-native english language is reading a novel and comes up with a word which he finds difficult to understand, then in such case, he should be looking up for the menaing of word, be it from dictionary, from internet, or ask anyone who may know the meaning. Then comes area where reading from books would definitely will not be enough. Many professional courses reuqires students to do certain amount of lab work prior to being given a graduate degree. Professional degrees related to medical sciences, engineering, cooking, designing and many more require you to spend some lab hours, perform some experiments and then only are they allowed to work on real life problems. As for professional degree, I would here like to give an instance where I was supposed to deliver a presentation on flow of fluid around an aerodynamic body, for which I was supposed to prepare. I could not prepare enough, and it should have been difficult for me to deliver the presentation. But, being well versed with the topic as I had worked on it as a part of my research project, I came up with a presentation for which was acclaimed to be the best presentation of the day.

From the beginning of our life only, as a baby we are taught to do things and we as a child are not supposed to read books for that, we practice those things. Eating, walking, talking, and many day to day activities, we do are not the ones we have read and learnt, rather it is a reuslt of constant practice over the years. The world is constanlty changing and it reuires one to be well informed of the topics to stand out in a crowd. It may be such that reading a book will help you, be enough for you, but little more knowledge will definitely not harm you.Thus in conclusion, I would like to agree with the statement that " Not everything that is learned is contained in the books."