1

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people say that major cities must be studied in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society. They cite this reason based on the belief that the important characteristics are carried only by the intellectual people of the society who live in the major cities. However, I strongly disagree with this belief and suggest that the characteristics of a society are not possessed only by its major cities but the minor ones as well. I will support my viewpoint with two reasons.

First of all, the traditions and culture of a society is not necessary to be originated from the major cities. For example, there are many traditions, such as welcoming the guests with a ceremony, which are practiced mostly in the rural areas. These types of characteristics are not seen in the major cities, so, to understand them one must study the rural areas as well. It is important to understand that rural places also have provided significant contribution towards a society because every society in its early phase begins from the rural area only and after their development, they grow into major cities.

Secondly, it is not necessary that the characteristics of a society should be associated with major cities at all. For example, some of the major cities might be planned and developed by the government in the recent time such that it does not possess any history with it at all. Studying this type of cities to find the characteristics is of no point because of no history associated with them at all. Thus it is important to know how old a city is such that it contains any history with it or not.

In conclusion, the issue of whether major cities should be studied to find the history associated with a society is complex. Some have suggested that, major cities should be studied. Nevertheless, I still contend that it is not only major cities which should be studied but also the minor cities from which society characteristics might be associated.