Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Even with the increased standards of education in today's era, co-education is still a controversial issue. Some parents favour sending their children to co-education schools while others prefer single gender schools. Both type of education has its advantages and disadvantages. Considering today's work environment, I am of the opinion that boys and girls should study together in same school. I feel this way for few reasons which I will explain in the following paragraph.

To begin with, it’s a basic human right to be treated equally. Mixed education promotes a sense of gender equality among students and in the society. Students are treated equally by the staff and the classmates. This eliminates feeling of complexity in one gender student from the other gender. My elder brother demonstrates a good example of this. Unlike my orthodox, male dominating family, my brother always treats me (girl) equal to him. He involves me in family talks, he encourages me to learn better and seek higher education. We do healthy discussions and share our opinions with respect. He also assists my mother in household chores sometimes. He always appreciates that have he not had attended mixed school he wouldn’t have learned the right of gender equality.

Moreover, interaction among boys and girls in a controlled environment like school will prepare them for their future career. On the other hand, a student studying in a single gender school could be more shy and less confident to face and work in a unisex work environment. For instance, I did my primary and secondary education in a co- education school. We used to participate in group discussions and debate which were monitored by the teacher in charge of the class. She used to observe and correct us in how to communicate and present our views in a team maintaining respect of girls and boys in the group and be polite, how to be persuasive in correct manner keeping our limitations in mind. That is how I developed my morals, manners and skills of communication with my male and female co-workers at my worksite. However, this is in contrast to my team colleague John, who pursued his education from boy’s school. Consequently, he is hesitant and an introvert in professional team meetings.

In conclusion, co-education is a better choice for children. This is because it will promote sense of equality in them and the society and it will give students the opportunity to develop crucial professional behaviours for their future career.