Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Questions surrounding what students should be taught at university have been ongoing in the last years, since an increasing number of young people have been deciding to attend university in order to attain a valuable degree. While some people believe that students should take classes in only one subject, others believe that they should be required to study several subjects. In my opinion, taking classes in many subjects is better and more convenient. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, students can acquire a deeper and wider knowledge if they study more than a subject at university. In fact, studying in this academic stimulating environment makes young people increase their culture and broaden their horizons. For instance, if you study only courses related to chemistry, you will not deeply understand your subject, since you need physics in order to have a profound insight into the chemical world. Besides, you cannot develop enough skills to solve chemistry problems, because you are required to follow mathematics courses. Thus, following courses related to different subjects, students can consolidate their knowledge and expand their eyesight.

Second, students have more job opportunities after graduation. Nowadays companies have been looking for people who have gained lots of skills, such as flexibility. For example, my cousin was hired in a well-known automobile business last year and he told me that the employers did not pay excessive attention on his degree or on his language certification during the job meeting. They just asked him few random questions about practical problems that were not linked to a university subject, but they were broader: the ability of adapting to several situation was to be checked. Therefore, taking classes in many subjects increases the chances of getting a good job.

Third, studying several subjects helps students decide their future career. Lots of people do not know what they like when they apply for university. If universities did not allow students to take classes in many subjects, students would easily lose motivation and have serious problems in understanding what to do in their life. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I was undecided between engineering and physics at the end of high school and I applied for an engineering university. However, I had to take courses from several fields, such as computer science, mathematics, physics and chemistry. After I was more deepened in these subjects, I understood that engineering was not the right choice since I loved physics more. If I had not taken classes about physics when I was a freshman, I would have made a terrible mistake which would have negatively influenced my academic success and my whole life.

All in all, this essay discussed why taking classes in many subjects is better than studying just a subject. This is because students improve their knowledge, because they will have many job prospects in the future, and because they could understand their passions.