Some people think that the automobile has improved modern life. Others think that the automobile has caused serious problems. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, cars have been increasing and this phenomenon has made people reflect upon automobile’s impacts on modern life. While some people believe that cars have enhanced people’s lives, others believe that the automobile has been a detrimental invention for humankind. In my opinion, vehicles have both negative and positive influence on our life. In the following essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages that the automobile has brought.

On one hand, cars have lots of benefits on people’s lives. The automobile is considered fast, practical and comfortable: having a car makes people live better compared to the past. My grandmother’s childhood is a compelling example of this. The island where she lived with her family—Ischia, in the gulf of Naples—was isolated and there was only a big market where she could buy food. She used to ride a horse for 20 kilometers in order to reach that destination. She usually says that if she had owned a car, it would have taken only 15 minutes, while riding a horse it took almost half a day: thus, the invention of the automobile has improved our living conditions.

On the other hand, cars have been polluting our planet. In fact, the automobile requires gas in order to work and fuel is obtained through the extraction and refinement of petroleum. These processes are extremely harmful for the environment, since it can cause climate change and the death of many animals. Besides, petroleum has also negative impact on human beings, since air pollution can cause lung cancer and other diseases. In the last years, cars have been multiplying and their exhaust have been increasing smog: this substance is full of toxic particulates. In many cities, people have to wear air masks in order to prevent serious illness. Thus, the automobile has been spoiling air and contaminating the environment.

All in all, this essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of cars. The automobile has made our lives better, but it has also caused serious environmental issues. In my opinion, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, since the negative consequences can be diminished by effective regulations.