Some people think that the automobile has improved modern life. Others think that the automobile has caused serious problems. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Automobiles are inarguably the most popular and most widely used means of transportation in the world even though the use of automobiles comes with concomitant cons like air pollution and road accidents. However, I believe that, overall, using automobiles has improved modern life due to two main reasons.

To start with, automobiles have made it easier to move from one place to another on land compare to the means of transportation used in the past; for example, the use of horses and camels. People can now move from their place of work to their place of abode with minimal stress. With use of automobiles, students can go to school and come back home with ease. As a science teacher, I make use of cars from my home to my workplace every day with feeling stressed up. Without these vehicles, I may have to trek down to school every morning and that may make me feel tired even before I start the day’s work. Hence, negatively impact my ability to discharge my duties. Because automobiles aid our movement from place to place, thereby making it possible for us to focus on more important things, I believe it has positively affected modern life.

In addition, I hold to the opinion that automobile has improved modern life because it makes possible to move perishable goods from one part of a country to another within hours. Goods that may get spoilt if they spend too much time in transit can be quickly delivered to the consumers. For instance, tomatoes are mainly planted in the northern part of Nigeria and they are transported to the southern part of the country. The use automobile is a cost-effective and fast way to get these vegetables to the southern part of the country with a day or two. So, by making it possible to quickly transport easily degradable goods from one part of a country to another in a cheap way, I believe automobile has improved modern life.

In conclusion, I believe that automobiles have improved human life because they make it easy to move from one place to another thereby make it possible to focus on important thing and they also make it possible to transport goods from one place to another in a cost-effective way.