The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although, the argument in the letter sent to the editor that consumers can prevent the likely pollution and environmental hazard likely to be caused by the mining activities of Crust Copper Company by shunning products made with their copper looks cogent at first, the argument is riddled with unsupported assumptions on further analysis. This assumptions leave many unanswered question and thereby weaken the argument in the letter.

Firstly, there is an assumption that the amount of pollution that is likely to result from the minig activities of Crust Copper Company (CCC) would be large enough to cause significant damage to the environment and by extension, the endangered species. If the pollution would not be large enough to cause any significant environmental harm, there wouldn’t be a need for consumers action or any other action targeted at making the company abandon its project. In Order to strengthen the argument, the writer can come up with the amount of projected waste materials from the corper mining process or data from minig operations with similar structure as the one intended for West Fredoria and the maximum amount of the waste product in which the endangered animals can afford to take in without negative consequences. This way, the writer of the letter can prove that the mining process that is intended for West Fredonia would be of significant environmental consequence.

Secondly, there is also an unwarranted assumption that consumers are interested in keeping the almost extinct animals safe or protecting the environment in their own way. If the consumers are not interested in the first place, they won’t take to the advice given and those who are advocating against the potential environmental risk of the mining process would have to look for other ways like legal action or probably protests that may help to make the mining process unsustainable. Therefore the argument should show the general disposition of the public to sustaining the environment.

Finally, even if the people are interested in taking actions against the company, that doesn’t mean they would be able to distinguish items made from copper from CCC from other coppers. If the consumer cannot discern the copper from others, they wouldn’t be able to effectively abandon such items thereby making weakening the argument. Therefore, in order to strengthen this position, the writer should enumerate ways in which such discernment can be made. In addition, there is no proof that there are alternatives if the consumers decide to take actions against good made from CCC’s copper and this questions need to be answered in order to make the argument more solid.

In Conclusion, due to the unanswered questions concerning the availability of alternatives and the ability of cousumers to distinguish between good made from CCC’s copper and others (if available), coupled with the assumption that the pollution from the mining operation of the company would be high enough to have negative impacts, the argument is weak and needs further supports