Many people visit museums when they travel to new place. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People take actions because of diverse reasons and, sometimes, it may be difficult to rationalize the reason/s why an individual has taken a particular action. However, I think the reason why a lot of people who visit a place, for the first time, attend the museums in such places is due to the following.

Firstly, people have different tastes in all facets of life. What a man wants want to see is what another man doesn’t want to catch a glimpse of. However, there are some traits that connect all humans: the desire to come in close contact with extraordinary/rare objects is one of those traits. Museums are places where one can catch a glimpse at objects of diverse artistic and historical values. Some of these objects may not be present in any other part of the world. Therefore, people who travel to new places may find it very pleasing to go to the museum to see such unique objects.

Secondly, humans are gregarious animals and most people love making new friends particularly when they are in new environments. The museum serves as a good place to meet up with new people with similar tastes; most especially fellow travelers. These likelihood of hooking up with other people while concurrently enjoying the wide array of objects in display at museums, attracts travelers to the museum.

Lastly, as inquisitive beings, people may find it attractive to visit museums in order to learn more about the culture of the local population. Museums serve as fertile grounds to educate oneself about the history and culture of the people in a society while satisfying one’s curiosity. In conclusion, I believe people visit museums when they are in a new environment in order to meet new people, see unique objects and also educate themselves.