In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

With the advance in technology, an increasing number of cars have been producing by automobile companies and this has arisen some debates about the future of our planet. While some people believe that by twenty years, the number of cars will be decreasing, others believe that there will be more and more vehicles. In my opinion, the number of cars will increase in the next twenty years. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, in twenty years world population will increase and thus more and more people will need means of transportation such as cars. In fact, the automobile has made our life comfortable and efficient: everyone desires owning a car since cars allow people to move easily. This explains why overpopulation means having more cars on our planet. For instance, in my country one family possesses two cars on the average: this number is surprisingly high, considering that in Italy there are lots of families. Besides, students usually receive a car as a gift for their graduation and the automobile has become a trend. If population increase in twenty years, as some researchers state, the number of cars in my country will be so high that many other problems will occur, such as the building of new parking areas and the development of factories in residential areas. Therefore, overpopulation will cause the increase in the quantity of cars existing on our planet.

Second, in twenty years there will be a decisive technological development. In fact, cars will become easier to manufacture thanks to automatic production. With the increasing demand of vehicles, companies have already spend money on research in the mechanical engineering field. Their aim is to multiply the production of cars in a safe way, that is following governments' regulations. Besides, the problem of pollution will be diminished since more and more scientists have been working on finding petroleum alternative. There will be less air contamination since less greenhouse gases will be emitted in the atmosphere. For example, researchers have been trying to use biomass as fuel with successful results: if this new type of gas develops all over the world, all the problems linked to petroleum will end. In fact, petroleum causes not only air contamination, but also marine pollution, serious diseases in human beings and destruction of entire ecosystems.

All in all, this essay discussed why in twenty years there will be an increase in the number of cars. This is because the world population will exponentially grow, because cars' manufacturing will improve.