People learn better from those at their own level—such as teachers or supervisors—then from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors

Questions surrounding who people’s best teachers are have been ongoing in the recent years, especially after the development of technology. In fact, young people seem more comfortable learning from their fellow students or colleagues than from older people since they share the same interests. While some people believe that co-workers and friends make people learn better, others believe that learning from teachers or supervisors is more effective and helpful. In my opinion, people learn concept and gain expertise better from older people than from fellow colleagues. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, older people are the best teachers since they are positive role-model for younger people. In fact, they can give them some advice and teach them what is wrong and what is right. Besides, their life lessons make the youngsters reflect upon their mistakes: in this way, they become more mature and take the responsibility for their own life. If young people did not follow someone who is at a higher level and they were just influenced by their fellow friends, they would make bad decisions. My cousin's experience is a compelling example of this. When he was freshman at high school, he became extremely close with some shady people, he did not focus on his studies and he did not accept his parents' advice. Consequently, he abandoned high school and he is now unemployed with a few job prospects. Thus, teachers can be great role-model to follow and help young people to have a successful life.

Second, people who are at a higher level have more experience and they can teach you a lot of new things. For instance, if I had not had a teacher who patiently explained physics to me, I could never have developed a passion for this subject and an interest in nature's laws. Learning from older people improves your knowledge and broaden your horizons. I would never have decided to study mechanical engineering in Turin if my mathematics teacher had not talked to me about the prestigious Polytechnic University of Turin. In my opinion, you cannot learn a lot from your fellow students since they do not have more experience than you, they are at your same level and thus they have the same worries and problems as you in their lives.

All in all, this essay discussed why people should learn from someone who is at a higher level. This is because they give you some important advice for your life and they can be taken as excellent role-model, and because they improve your knowledge and increase your expertise.