Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Face-to-face communication is better than other types of communication, such as letters, email, or telephone calls. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer

With the advance of technology, people have a world of technological devices right at their fingertips by which they can easily communicate with friends and colleagues. While some people believe that the face-to-face interaction cannot be replaced by this new type of communication, others believe that calling someone is the same (or is even more efficient) as talking with someone in person. In my opinion, face-to-face communication is better and more beneficial. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, communicating in person conveys emotions that cannot be expressed by letters or telephone calls. In fact, people do not interact just talking, but they also communicate with their body. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My girlfriend lives in Japan, that is 13 hours by flight from Italy: when I call her, I feel extremely sad since I wish she could stay next to me and stare my eyes. I think that looking people while talking is important because people are not robots, but they have feelings that come from their bodies. When I meet my girlfriend, I can talk to her in person and our relationship is more passionate and intense, since I can hug and kiss her. Thus, interacting with people in person allows people to express certain feelings which go beyond the mere words.

Second, face-to-face communication is necessary when people need to discuss about serious problems. For example, last year’s my father was offered a job in France and the company gave him two choices for the job meeting: going to the firm headquarters or having a Skype video-call. He chose to go to France even though this country is far, because he said that this was the only way to show his communication skills. Interaction abilities include not only the speaking skills, but also the ability to be a pleasant and elegant person.

All in all, this essay discussed why face-to-face interaction is better than communicating using technological devices. This is because people can transmit more feelings and because they need to show their communication skills.