University degrees are becoming increasingly less valuable. Degrees should be earned by gaining practical skills on the job instead of attending university.

Millions of students graduate from university every day and this makes people reflect on the effectiveness of university education and compare that to learning on the job. Some people believe that receiving a qualification after studying at university is not worthwhile and student should develop their own skills directly working and not studying in university. This essay will discuss why university degrees are still important and valuable in our society.

First, college prepares people for life. If getting a job had been more advantageous than spending time studying on books, universities would not have been created. Attending university allows students to increase their culture and their knowledge, which are essential features required in several jobs. As far as I am concerned, university teaches students how to face and handle problems. Students can comprehend how to define their goals and develop their careers. For instance, in many companies, hand workers have to be directed and guided by engineers, who have strengthened their knowledge studying and getting a degree. Engineers can teach them how machines work and if there is a problem, only the technical competence learned at university can help them. Thus, people who gain expertise just working did not deeply understand what they are doing while accomplishing their tasks.

Second, attending university helps young people to find well-paid jobs. Having a degree makes them more successful in the recruitment stage. How could company leaders know that you can obtain practical proficiency on the job? They can employ someone who does not have a degree, but he/she will not have a high salary. In most cases, they have to do a period of internship without being paid. On the other hand, if in the recruitment meeting the candidates show their degree, that is valuable because this document is a certification of learning. Even though, one candidate only has theoretical skills, he/she has achieved the requirements to learn what to do in the “real” life. For example, my father attended university and now earns high salary, while his friends who did not graduate are having serious troubles finding a job. Attaining a degree is the fastest and safest way to start working on well-paid jobs.

This essay discussed why people should get a college degree because it prepares them to the “real” world and it also rewards them with high salary. In my opinion, everyone who has ambition should attend university and receive a degree.