It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Questions surrounding whether students should study many academic subjects at university have been ongoing in the last years, since universities have become more and more popular and an increasing number of people decide to attend these institutions. While some people believe that specializing in one specific subject is more efficient and proficuous than studying a wide variety of subjects, others believe that focusing on an ample range of academic subjects is more beneficial. In my opinion, knowing more than a subject is better. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, people have more job opportunities if they are prepared in many subjects. In fact, nowadays companies have been looking for employees who can accomplish a large amount of tasks since hiring specialized workers is expensive and because people who have a broader knowledge are more flexible and prepared to solve firms’ problems. For instance, my father got two degrees, one in engineering and another in chemistry: his deep understanding of technical processes allowed him to be hired in ENI, the most famous petroleum company in the world. He has told me if he had not graduated in chemistry as well, he would never have gained the respect and the authority that now has in the business. In fact, his job consists in plant design, which requires both engineering and chemistry. Engineering helps you to decide the size of each component in the plant, while chemistry is important to understand how to process and refine petroleum, which will be stored in some containers in the plant. Thus, learning more than a subject has a beneficial impact on your future job and

career.

Second, studying many subjects satisfies people’s curiosity and broaden their horizons. Students need to learn more and more since they are curious about the outside world. Besides universities are a stimulating intellectual environment because students can improve their knowledge and become more critical about the social and political problems. If I studied only mathematics or physics, I would not feel accomplished: I like being continuously stimulated and asking some questions to myself, such as “how this machine works”, “why the sky is light blue” and so on. Learning subjects from many fields helps you to increase your culture and makes you a better person, since people who study only a subject are ignorant about everything beyond what they have studied. Therefore, studying more than a subject improves people’s lives.

All in all, this essay discussed why having large knowledge is beneficial and essential for students. This is because people increase their job prospects and because they enrich their personality and expand their eyesight.