TPO 12 - It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Views differ when it comes to people's information and understanding. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that there is more beneficial to be familiar with many academic areas. However, some other may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that having solid knowledge in on specific area are better. In my point of view, there are more merits for people to have broad academic knowledge.

The first reason worth mentioning is that a person who has a vast academic knowledge has a better chance to progress these days. Nowadays, the development of technology alters the roles of people and connected all areas together. The link between areas is the new form of jobs. There is a lot of new skill that we can use its application in all area. Therefore, it is necessary for us to have a broad academic knowledge for using this application. For example, there are many data collected by humans today. Skilled people can use new method on this collected data and gain valuable information from them. Also, these data help us to make a better prediction. These method that we use them on data is the process of data or a data scientist job. It requires many different area like statistics, math, computer science and based its application other areas. The use of methods increased in the past years and all company need them. So, a person have a basic knowledge of different science can use these method and progress faster than other people.

A further more subtle point is that having an adverse source of knowledge of other sciences help people to understand their own passion. One of the problem of many student and people is that they do not know what they are passionate about and like. All of the people have a special gift and if they use it correctly can enjoy their life and gain peace. Also, many people choose a certain field of study because of the force of their parent. Therefore, they understand that they do not have an interest in that area after years. Nevertheless, people who are experienced in broad knowledge can understand easily what they like because they are familiar with the application of other areas. For instance, my brother was a top student in math, history and statistic. After he finished college, my parent forces him to study civil engineering. When he graduate from university, he did not care about civil and tried to find an area in which he likes. Based on his experience in high school, he decided to study statistics for his master's program because he was familiar with its works and subjects.

To make a long story short, there are more merits for people to have a vast understanding of academic subjects due to the mentioned reasons in up paragraphs.