Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

Questions surrounding whether life is better today than it was in the past have been ongoing in the last years. With the advance of technology, it a no brainer that our life has changed: have the new technological devices improved our living conditions? While some people believe that life is today more efficient and more comfortable than it was in the past, others believe that our grandparents' life was decisively better. In my opinion, life today is not only easier, but also far better than it was in the past. There could be many reasons why I feel this way: this essay will discuss only two of these.

First, life has become better thanks to the development of transportation. Nowadays, the number of means of transports has been increasing and people life is easier since they can readily move without any type of constraint. They can visit many places all around the world by plane, go to job by car with ease and travel in the remote regions of a country by train. In the past, the lack of transportation caused immobility and my grandmother is a compelling example of this. She used to live all her life on an island in the gulf of Naples and she suffered a lot since in order to reach Naples, she had to take a ferry, which was slow and took almost a day to reach the destination. As a result, she never traveled: she did not completely enjoy her life because she did not see the beauty of the outside world and she did not meet people from many different walks of life. Thus, the improvement in transportation has enhanced our life.

Second, life has become more efficient and more comfortable thanks to technological advances. People have today a world of technological devices right at their fingertips, such as smartphones, computers, television, which make them know more about the world. Technology has increased our knowledge and culture, since today doing researches is extremely fast and easy. For instance, if I had to write a paper about a philosopher, I could just find more information about his life and works over the Internet, instead of going to the library and looking for his works. The older generation has also benefited from this progress. In fact, my mom usually says that when she was college student, she had been losing a great amount of time at library in order to learn French language, while today everything is easier because she can just learn online through interactive courses and lectures. I totally agree with her since I realize that if I had not had technological devices while I was writing my thesis, I would have found serious problems and I would have been more stressed and worried. Therefore, computers and other devices have positively changed our life.

All in all, this essay discussed why life today is easier than it was in the past. This is because people can more easily move through means of transportation, and because they can learn and work faster and in a more efficient way through technological devices.