Young people enjoy life more than older people do

In recent years the generational gap between younger people and the elderly has widened because of the advance in technology. In fact, teenagers and children have a world of electronic appliances right at their fingertips and they seem to have more enjoyable life than their grandparents had in the past. Besides, it is a no brainer that the elderly is anti-technological and conservative: while some people believe that this prejudice makes older people enjoy life less than young adults, others believe that young people have just interests that are different from the older people, who can equally taste some pleasures of life. In my opinion, older people enjoy life more than the youngster do. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, older people have more free time that can be spent in leisurely activities such as playing a musical instrument, reading novels or traveling around the world. In our society, young people are frenetic since there is a lot of competition, so the youngsters have to continuously improve themselves in order to succeed. For instance, they have to study hard and get a valuable degree if they want to gain a successful job position after their graduation. Spending more time in all these activities makes them lose the chance to develop their passions or increase their culture. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a mechanical engineering student at the Polytechnic University of Turin and I almost feel overwhelmed by classes and assignments since my university is extremely prestigious and people have to work hard and be diligent in order to succeed. In so doing, I do not have time to play the violin, which has been one of my greatest interests ever since I was a child. On the other hand, I see that my grandparents enjoy his life going to the theatre every day and I almost envy him for that. Thus, the elderly benefits from spare time more than younger people do.

Second, older people have less anxiety and problems to think about. This is because they invested all their life in working and taking care of family, and at the end of their career they feel calmer since they do not have to worry about their job and children anymore. Young people are instead always in a hurry, they have many concerns and this situation negatively affects their life. For instance, while I am usually busy studying and rushing to go to classes on time every day, my grandparents take enjoyable strolls and they carelessly admire the beauty of nature calmly resting.

All in all, this essay discussed why old people enjoy life more than younger people. This is because they have more time to dedicate themselves to hobbies and passions, and because they are less anxious and concerned.