It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Questions surrounding what is at the bottom of knowledge have been ongoing for hundreds of years. Many philosophers and scientists have been trying to understand if knowledge acquired from books is more effective than the empirical one. While some people believe that experience is more important than theory, others underline that books are better than practice. This essay will discuss why this problem should not be looked as a dichotomy, since both practice and theory are equally essential.

With regard to theory, studying on books broaden people’s mind. If one study from books, he/she can understand more about the real world and become more aware of political and social problems. For instance, history books are not only related to past events, but they offer the key to reading the present and the future. If I had never gained knowledge from this source, you would not have known why Italy is not divided into two reigns anymore, how the US succeeded in the Secession War and why South and North Korea have been divided nowadays. Learning from books makes people more cultured and broad-minded, and thus prepare them for the “real” world.

With regard to practice, learning from experience is also essential in order to prepare people for the “real” world. If you study only from books, you can broaden your horizons, but you cannot completely understand the world around you. My own experience is a compelling experience of this. I am a mechanical engineering student: we study a lot of theory from books, but our teachers are really focused on underlining that this is not enough to become a good engineer and get a well-paid job. If I just learned how an injection molding machine works, without observing it in practice, I could not be able to design it. Only practice and experience help you in this. Engineers do not learn how to design on books and this is a clear example of knowledge gained from experience. Therefore, empirical learning completes people’s mindsets and expand their eyesight as well as studying from books.

This essay discussed why both practice and theory are important in order to acquire deep knowledge of the outside world. In my opinion, everyone has to study from books, but also go beyond and learn from experience.