Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Questions surroundings who influences children’s success in school have been ongoing for many years, but they have increased ever since the development of technology. In fact, young people have become more independent and autonomous. While some people believe that children’s academic success is influenced by their fellow students, others believe that parents still influence their children’s choices. In my opinion, classmates have a more critical impact on children’s success in school. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, young people tend to communicate more with classmates since they have the same age. Consequently, if a child is in a troublesome situation or has to make an important decision, he/she will ask to a classmate instead of his/her parents. Recent studies have confirmed that children can dramatically change their opinions and viewpoints due to friends. My cousin is a compelling example of this. When he was attending the elementary school, he was considered as straight-A student. After the beginning of high school, he changed his classmates and they had a serious impact on his personality. He became less and less interested in studying, he started smoking with his friends: to make a long story short, he decided to go to work when he was sophomore at high school. He is unemployed today and he has few job prospects. Thus, fellow colleagues influence children more than parents.

Second, young people do not enjoy talking with their parents since they sometimes have a conflicted relationship. Nowadays, children have become more and more attracted by the world of technology and they see parents as old-fashioned and conservative. My aforementioned cousin extremely loved playing video games and computer, while my uncle was anti-technology: he did not understand anything about the world of technological distractions. Besides, they usually argued since my cousin played continuously and seemed not to care about family. In my opinion, this conflict was one of the main causes which brought my cousin to make wrong decisions in his life, as I discussed in the above paragraph. Thus, children may prefer expressing their feelings with friends if they have troubles with his parents.

All in all, this essay discussed why young people’s success is more influenced by classmates. This is because they are prone to interact with someone who has their same age, and because they can have a hostile relationship with their parents.