Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Games are as important for adults as they are for children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, games have been becoming more and more popular: people can play right at their fingertips on some electronic devices, such as smartphones. While some people believe that only children should have the pleasure of playing games, others believe that everyone—adults and young people—should have the chance of having enjoyable plays. In my opinion, games are as fundamental for children as they are for the older people. I feel this way for two main reasons, that I will explore in the following essay.

First, games are important for adults since playing is a relaxing activity. Many people are tired after their job and playing games can alleviate stress and make them joyful. If people could not play games, they would be just focused on their work and this would cause sadness and depression. For instance, my father usually comes home late at night: he is exhausted since his job requires a lot of hard work, patience and diligence. In order to distract himself, he enjoys playing a soccer video game on the Playstation with me. He often says that if he did not have this leisure, he would feel overwhelmed by his job. Thus, playing games is a good stress reliever.

Second, games help people to develop communication skills and to enhance their culture . Lots of video games are set in the past and contain an introduction with history explanations, so children can learn more about the past. Doing like that, young people increase their knowledge and have fun at the same time. Besides, some games need more than one player and therefore people can play together and communicate one another. For instance, my cousin usually played a car racing game with his friends: in this way, he learned how to drive a car and how to deal with people. The ability to effectively interact with people was extremely appreciated during his job meetings: if he had never played that game, he would not have been so successful when he started working. Thus, people can improve their life if they play games.

All in all, this essay discussed why games are important for both young and old people. This is because playing games is a relieving activity and because it can increase culture and interaction skills.