Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Games are as important for adults as they are for children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I strongly disagree with the statement that the sports and social activities of university and colleges should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries. Although it is right that the students and teachers are always busy in academic studies, sports and social activities have the function of stress relief and improve friendship among students and staff of university, it is not meant such sports and social activities deserves equal financial support with academic things. university and colleges is a institute where academic studies and education of students is the core, and usually the financial budget is limited, so the rational of financial distribution is important. I will examine below the specific reasons for distributing most of fund to academic areas is significant.

it is well-know that the expenditure of academic studies and education is numerous and the financial budget is limited. The public university’s major expenditure is support by the government and the private university is support by students’ tuition, neither of the financial funds is plenty. Comparing to most business companies, the revenue of the university is poor. so the most funds should be used as the main purpose of university.

Apart from the sport university, the main tasks of most university are academic researches and the education of students. As the point discussed above, the fund is limited and expenditure of researches and education is numerous, if the sport and social activities receive equal financial support there is no doubt that the main tasks of university might be ceased by shortage of funds.

In addition, if a university can attain sufficient funds for building athletic fields and organizing social activities, there is no reason to do so. First, the main reason of most people attend university is getting more education, not entertainment. Second, the researches in science and technology is the main assignment for graduate students and professors, and the process of researches is heavy, so they do not have enough time to enjoy other entertain facilities.

Last, in my view, the academic education will always be the heart of a university. The students should not divert attention from lots of entertain activities, so that they can achieve their final academic goals. For this reason I discussed above, I maintain that university and colleges should not spend large number of money in entertain activities.