Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them

With the advance in technology, children have today a world of technological distractions right at their fingertips, such as smartphones, computers and television. This has made people reflect upon the effect of electronic appliances on children and lots of debates surrounding the utilization of PlayStation have been ongoing. While some people believe that young people should not play video games since they waste their time, other people believe that playing video games plays an important role in children’s lives. In my opinion, video games negative influence children and thus young people should not spend their time on that. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, playing computer games makes children more distracted and this influences their ability to learn and their imagination. Video games are extremely attractive and thus young people usually prefer spending their time playing on the PlayStation instead of taking a stroll and admiring the beauty of nature. Consequently, children can readily lose concentration and interest in their studies or in other “higher” activities, such as talking with friends and interacting with their parents. Besides, they become less curious about the outside world and therefore they do not develop imagination and creativity, that are fundamental features. My cousin is a compelling example of this. When I go to his house, he is always busy playing video games and he never cares about me. This has negatively affected his life. In fact, his parents have told me that the teachers have been worried about his behavior at school since he seems absent-minded and lacks the enthusiasm of his fellow students. Therefore, technological distractions are harmful for children.

Second, playing video games does not benefit children since they can imitate the negative characters which are presented. In fact, many appealing video games are about war and battles and the main figures are often violent and aggressive. They can be negative role-models for children, who cannot distinguish between good and evil. For instance, I have a friend who liked playing this kind of games when he was young. In particular, he was so obsessed with a character, a drug dealer who committed crimes and was involved in bad activities. At the beginning, he just bought some posters which showed the character, but when he got older, he started imitating his actions, such as smoking and small thefts. To make a long story short, he decided to abandon the school and he is now unemployed with a few job prospects.

All in all, this essay discussed why children should not play video games. This is because computer games are enemies of creativity, imagination and they prevent children from studying, and because they can offer negative role-models.