Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

It goes without saying that universities play a vital role in everybody’s life in our progressive and fast-changing world. It is owing to the fact that what students learn in universities assist them in building their future and find a suitable career. In this line of thought, some universities are of the opinion that students should learn courses in different areas, while others stand to the view that students need to study one subject and learn it deeply. Personally speaking, I concur with the former idea, and in the ensuing lines, I will substantiate my point.

The first and foremost reason to mention is that in our current competitive world, people need to have a variety of skills and knowledge to find an appropriate job. To clarify, to keep pace with the modern world, people should broaden their expertise to a wide range of abilities. Today’s task is a composition of different skills and learnings which are rudimentary for the one who looks for a well-paying job. My experience is a case in point. When I was a student, I worked in an investment company part-time. During the first three months, I understood that I need to learn a lot of things which have not been studied in universities to keep my job and be a competitive employee. So, I took a plethora of workshops in different subjects such as negotiation and effective communication. After a while, these abilities have helped me to get a promotion and be successful in my job. So, I think it is important to learn different subjects, and my university should have taught these materials to students.

The second reason which deserves to elaboration is that learning a variety of topics lets students find their favorite topic before making irreversible decisions. To put it in other words, students usually do not know about their true interest before they start study in universities. After they take some courses and do some projects, they gradually find what is more satisfactory for them. Take a personal experience as an example, when my brother was an undergraduate student, rarely did he study his major, and most of the time he took part classes in different departments. After doing some assignments of counseling courses, he decided to change his major from engineering to family counseling that he found more interesting. So, he got a master degree in family therapy with the excellent scores. Now, he is a prominent and erudite person in his area, and he is really happy about his decision. Thus, taking different courses could help students to have more options for their future education.

In conclusion, taking the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that universities should make it obligatory for students to take courses in different areas. Not only does it help them to get a suitable job needed a variety of expertise and knowledge, but also it brings them the opportunity to find their desired subject to pursue in the future.