If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

Find a roommate to share a room

Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less frequently

Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

Managing living costs has become the focus of increased attention of young people around the world. The young need to balance their incomes and expenses to handle both current living cost and future needs. A question can be raised in this regard that is what approaches and methods help people to diminish their daily expenses. Among a plethora of options, I prefer finding a roommate to share a room. I concur with this idea and in the ensuing lines, I will delve into two reasons to substantiate my point.

The first reason is that house rents constitute a large portion of the total living cost. In my country house's prices are significantly high related to average incomes. Accordingly, for renting a room, which has rudimentary features, people need to pay much. The government set some regulations on commodity prices and other living costs whereas there are no restricted regulations on real estate industry and prices increased exponentially each year in comparison to total inflation. In my city, Tehran, most of the people must have left their home every year as they are no longer afford to pay increasing rent. Every year the population of countryside growth as people move to cheaper places. My uncle experience is a compelling example of this. He has worked for several years and tried to retain as much as money he could to cope with his living expenses. But, he was not successful until he found a colleague to divide renting expenses. So, by reducing this part of living costs, my friend can handle his/her expenses more effectively.

Secondly, having a roommate bring people some lateral opportunities to decline their costs. People can share other payments such as electricity and building charge bills with his/her roommate. Take, for instance, if an individual wants to buy a new refrigerator which is required for living, s/he can split the cost and saves money. Also, people can share home tasks which are lead to fewer costs. In this regard, partners can cook home and switch this task every week. Thus, it is less boring and frustrating rather than doing it every week alone. As a result, they depend more on domestic food and expense less on restaurant’s foods.

In summary, all aforementioned reasons bring us to conclude that finding a roommate is a superb choice rather than two others options as people can cut the big proportion of their cost and meanwhile get benefited by sharing other daily costs.