In some countries, teenagers have jobs while they are still students. Do you think this is a good idea? Support your opinion by using specific reasons and details.

“Adolescents joining the workforce” is still a topic of controversy. Being into a job is very important in everyone’s life. Some people favour the practice of teenagers doing jobs; while others support the idea of teenagers focusing only on their studies. Both the practices have their advantages and disadvantages. Considering the age of teenagers, personally, I believe that they should only pay attention to the education and studies while they are students. I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, adolescent’s participation in jobs takes their time away from self study and recreation. Teens are already struggling with what subjects they should opt for in their promising future career. They need time to discuss this with the family and focus on their study of interest, take extra courses to develop their knowledge in those subjects. For instance, when I was in 10th grade, it was the time for me to decide on my major for high school studies and so on. I always desired of becoming a doctor, for which I was supposed to take a course for 2 years to prepare for the entrance test in conjunction with my high school studies. I had a very hectic schedule consisting of school and extra classes of medical entrance every day. After 3 years of diligence, my dedication was paid off. I cleared the exam with the required passing score which helped me enrol in my preferred medical college. Admittedly, in that age if I was into a job, I would not have had any time to attend the medical classes and do my self-study.

Moreover, as an adolescent, seeking education with a job is physically exhausting. As the teens do not have much of professional skills, they are mostly given the work of waitering, long time standing jobs in theatres and shopping malls which is physically tiring. My niece’s experience demonstrates a good example for this. She belongs to an upper middle class family. When she was 16, seeing her peers, she also wanted to get into a job and earn money. She used to attend school classes in the day followed by her standing ticket collection job at the movie theatre in the evening. By the end of the day she was tired with no energy left to study and do her assignments. Consequently, she was falling back in her studies with decelerating academic performance. However, when she realised this, she resigned from the job and gave that time for self-study and recreation. As a result, her performance rocketed significantly. This shows how job can negatively affect a kid’s the learning efficiency.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the teenagers should not indulge into job while they are pursuing education. This is because the job not only takes the time away from studies but also has adverse effects their education and academic performance. Teenage is the age of learning and decision-making for the career. Thy can seek job after they join their graduation, where they can make professional contacts and learn professional skills required for the future.