Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

With the advance of technologies, people are offered more and more television programs today. Some may fear that with the introduce of many TV shows, kids are greatly affected negatively. However, in my opinion, I think watching television is helpful for children.

To begin with, watching television shows give children a lot of novel knowledge that they can never learn in classes or libraries. TV programs introduce well-examined contents and are promised to offer beneficial learning materials for children. Along with a vivid, colorful content, a television program is more efficient for kids to learn than they do in classes. For example, before my niece attended kindergarten, she was able to count from one to a hundred and memorize all English alphabets as well as simple words such as: water, bear or love. I was surprised with her intelligence and I finally realized the truth at dinner time when she was watching Peppa Pig, a child-oriented TV show featured a pink, girl pig and her family and friends. In this show, they convey a simple idea with various contents such as dancing, singing. These activities totally caught my niece's eyes and she mimic what she saw and said what she heard from the show. She didn't have a teacher to teach her yet she had already learnt so much from a show. Thus, watching television is definitely beneficial to kids.

Second, in addition to offering better learning environments for children, watching television show provides children a quality time at which children, and adults alike are brought together to enjoy the show. As I mentioned above, my niece watched Peppa Pig a lot and she was crazy for it. When she was watching Peppa Pig, her parents were watching with her as well and it was the best opportunity for them share quality time with each other. Although my brother and his wife usually worked lately, they always managed to come home before the show and watched it with my niece. One scene impressed me the most was one episode when Peppa's father came home lately, Peppa gave her dad a huge, heartwarming hug as soon as he was back. All of sudden, my niece approached to her parents and gave a equally huge hug to her parents. That was so touching that her mother almost cried.

To sum up, watching television show will not cause negative effects on children at all. Since these shows offer beneficial contents to help children learn with efficiency, as well as give a decent chance for kids to enjoy their quality time with their families.