The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument regarding to the recent change in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States indicates that due to the 98 percent of customers are happy with the use of margarine instead of butter and the number of complain is not considerable, the restaurants can replace butter by margarine in order to reduce the cost. The argument seems to be reasonable, however, some explanations are needed in order to warrantee it.

First, the argument asserts that only 2% of the customers have complained the use of margarine instead of butter which means 98 people out of 100 are happy with it. However, there are other explanations to this situation. For example, how many people exactly complain and how many are not pleased but choose not to inform the restaurants? Complaining about food in a restaurant is considered impolite and irritated, people tend to keep taciturn and may decide never come to the same place again. Therefore, the statistic may seem positive, but we cannot guarantee that people are actually satisfied with this change since numbers of people who file complains is required to support the argument.

Secondly, the argument states that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead; therefore the change is accepted and people are happy with it. But, there are explanation may weaken the arguments. For example, if there are proper channels for customers to complain about food served in the restaurants? Moreover, have servers in the restaurants conceal customers’ complains because they don’t want to reports any bad news to their supervisors? If these circumstances are valid, it is imaginable that there will not be any complain about their services. Consequently, the statistic regarding to their services is fallacious and the argument’s position is unjustified.

Finally, even though customers in southwestern United States don’t complain about the use of margarine instead of butter, it doesn’t mean that customer from other places are unaware of the issue. The argument believes customers may not be able to distinguish the difference between butter and margarine, so they can policy of the replacement can be applied nationwide. However, this situation requires more explanations. If customers cannot tell the difference of they simply don’t care? If there are new customers who don’t even know the restaurants use butter before and consider margarine the authentic flavor? Also, what if customers do notice the use of margarine when they anticipate the use of butter and decide never come back again? These are some alternative explanations needed to be examined in order to strengthen the argument.

To sum up, in order to enhance its suggestion, the argument should take some alternative explanation into consideration, such as: the validity of statistics, if there are proper channels for customers to file a complaint and if servers hide complains to avoid responsibilities, also, if customers from other areas can accept the policy or not.