People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

The statement asserts that people should only undertake risky action after they have carefully considered its consequences. This statement makes a logical sense and therefore, I firmly agree with it.

To begin with, premeditation of the consequences of a risky action can assist people to evaluate the feasibility and validity of their behaviors. Therefore, giving people an opportunity to create a favorable outcome. In certain fields, even a single failure disastrous. For example, it is necessary for stock investors to utilize their money wisely to maximum profit while a reckless decision may lead bankruptcy. Such activity requires people to consider different factors from multiple aspects. For example, the trading trend around the globe, in other word, what commodities people are interested in now. Moreover, trading policies among different countries may change. Such as Middle Eastern countries that mainly export gasoline, may limit annual export quantity and allowed certain companies to purchase their products. If investors cannot take these issues into consideration and reckless invest their money in it, they would have hard time adjusting their plans to the reality and therefore, leading themselves to a miserable ending.

Secondly, people may be overwhelmed by a current sensation and want to participate in certain activities in order to gain some benefits. Simply put, why not do what other people are doing right now? Therefore, without the presence of considering thoroughly, people easily blindly follow the trend and some are lucky enough to obtain the profit they want; while others may lose terribly. Tulpenmanie is the most compelling example in point. This investment happened during the Dutch Golden Age in sixteenth century when the Dutch introduced tuple’s bulbs from Turkey to Europe. The tuple they brought back to Europe was so sensational that literally everyone was crazy for it. From nobility, military generals to normal civilians. However, such sensation inevitably attracted some opportunists who spared no efforts to manipulate the markets. They raised the price of a bulb by promulgating its beauty, value and promoting tuples as a symbol of social status. Therefore, the price became outrageous and people could not afford a single plant yet still desire to get one. So, a specific trading pattern appeared: the futures contract. Overnight, everyone was capable of having tuples that they could not afford. However, things was exacerbated. Even with the introduction of the futures contract, people still could not pay any money. Finally, the Dutch market collapsed and every investment disappeared in a snap like bubbles. Tons of people lost a great amount of money as well as other things in exchange for tuples. Consequently, if people back to that time had considered what was about to come carefully. The financial tragedy may be avoided.

Admittedly, some may argue that there are circumstances which cannot allow people to take their time to think before taking action. For example, when a building is on fire, it leaves too little time for firefighters to consider a well-structured rescuing plan. They need to take action immediately to save people’s lives. However, that is not always the case.

Finally, I firmly agree with the statement that people should undertake risky action only when they have carefully considered its consequences.