The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that Clearview is the best choice to retirees to stay and enjoy the rest of their lives. The argument seems tempting and reasonable at first glance, however, there are some specific evidences needed to strengthen its suggestion. Otherwise, the argument remains specious.

To begin with, the argument asserts that Clearview’s beautiful natural scenery and consistent climate are the best for people after retirement. However, it fails to provide details about the exact content of its environment and climate. For example, what kind of beautiful scenery is it? Is it a majestic crayon or a powerful waterfall? These natural scenery are consider “beautiful” to some extends. Also, what is the climate there exactly? Is it located on a tropical continent or a near Arctic region? Without further evidences about its natural surroundings, the arguments is unwarranted

Secondly, the argument avers that the taxes are low and the prices of houses have fallen during the past a few years. But, the argument remains unconvincing since there are no evidences indicates that if the advantages mentioned in the argument is going to remain or it is about to change. What if a person buy a house there and the policy suddenly changes in the following years? Moreover, the mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Still the argument cannot guarantee if the major can bring what he or she says into practices. What if the mayor loses the election next time and none of the policies will be fulfilled? Therefore, without providing the evidences about the variability of prices and taxes as well as the feasibility of the mayor’s policies, the argument remains unjustified.

Regardless to the number of physicians that Clearview has, the argument seems to believe quantity is quality. Even though there are handful of physicians there, it doesn’t mean they will provide good health care. Therefore, evidences of their specialties as well as proficiency are needed. Otherwise the argument is not persuasive enough for people who may require extra medical attention.

To sum up, the argument has some flaws and specific evidences are needed to strengthen its suggestion, evidences such as: its natural environment and climate, the variability of prices and taxes as well as the feasibility of the mayor’s policies as well as the credibility of its medical professionals.