In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that in any profession, such as business, politics, education and government, those in power should step down after five years. However, I firmly disagree with this statement and I shall elaborate my thoughts in the following essay.

To begin with, professions mentioned in the statement are always confronted with long-term issues that may take more than five year to handle. Therefore, if people in charge are replaced as their tasks remain unsettled, their successors are burdened and may not be able to handle them gracefully. Take education in Taiwan, for example. Taiwanese education is a long-term policy. Children receive education at the age at 6 and are told to attend schools for at least 9 years till they finish high school. However, if a school starts an experimental plan for a selected group of children, observing their behavior from the time when they enter a school to after high school, they would be replaced even before the can review the results. Also, if people who take over their positions don’t understand what they are doing, the successors simply will have difficulty continuing their plan. Therefore, the plan becomes a dead-end and can never be carried out.

Secondly, professions such as politics and business require long time experiences to master. Since the society nowadays changes so fast and dramatically, people rely on those in power to guide them to the right direction. Take Apple, the largest 3C company, for example. Imagine Steve Jobs leave the company after he just introduced us the first generation of Mac in 1980s? If he did, would his successors continued his great achievement? Since people consider Steve Jobs one of the most influential figure in the field of innovation, we cannot imagine what if he stepped down and decided not to lead his company. Also, our society is becoming smaller due to the globalization. It is impossible to be fully isolated to other countries. Therefore, the government requires a group of loyal, persistent people to deal with multiple international issues since these issues are complex and need experienced experts’ assistance. Five years is not enough to train another group of people with the same or even better expertise.

To sum up, as mentioned above. I firmly disagree with the statement which claims that in any profession like business, politics, education and government, those in power should step down after five years.