Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. It is true that studying abroad is academically and personally beneficial to college students. However, it should not become a requirement to students. Therefore, I disagree with the statement.

To begin with, studying in a foreign is expensive and it burdens students’ financial situation. For example, the American college tuition is typically 5 times higher than colleges in most Asian countries such as Taiwan or Japan. Moreover, in the US, food, transportation fee as well as rental are more expensive than their Asian counterparts. If students are required to spend extra money to study abroad, their financial situation is exacerbated and they may not be able to focus on academic performance as they may choose to find a part-time job nearby instead of sitting in a library to study. Consequently, forcing students to study abroad seems to be meaningless if they cannot achieve academically.

In addition to financial issue, learning a second language is also a problem. It takes numerous time of practicing to master a language. If students spend too much time on learning a new language, they are unable to strike a balance between it and their majors. Take Japanese, for example. Japanese is considered one of the most complex language for its variable conjugation, strict grammar rules, complicated writing and so on. If a computer science student spends too much time learning Japanese, it certainly doesn’t help to sharpen his or her programming skill, instead, it only burdens student’s school live because Japanese colleges anticipate foreign students to show proficiency in Japanese. Therefore, learning another language is a critical issue.

Admittedly, studying in a foreign country does help students strengthen their mentality. Through studying abroad, students are exposed to a total unfamiliar environment. Therefore, they need to learn to be independent. For example, learning cooking, doing the laundry and handle every trivia issues by themselves.

To sum up, the statement assert that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. However, as mentioned above. I firmly disagree with the statement.