Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that critical judgment of work in any field is valuable only when it is given by expert in that field. This statement appears to be logical at first glance, however, I firmly disagree with it. I shall explore in the following essay

To begin with, the statement seems to believe that opinions from normal people are worthless. However, everyone’s opinions is important can it’s always to take theirs into consideration. For example, a tennis beginner may learn from his or her friends who are better in terms of techniques instead of hiring a professional players as a coach. Apparently, amateur tennis players are not as skillful as professional players do, but they have basic knowledge in this field and they are definitely qualified to provide opinions and share experiences with others. Therefore, I believe people can offer critical judgment as the experts can do in any field.

Additionally, when it comes to providing critical judgment, experts usually be rambling and not affable since they have developed great amount of knowledge, they cannot realize that normal people don’t view the world as they do. On the contrary, what other people can provide is sometimes more acceptable and colloquial due to the limited knowledge of a given field. For example, a famous poet may provide a long, dull review with nothing but an over usage of unscrupulous words, phrases and complex writing structure. This review may be considered breathtaking among critics but certainly a banal to normal people. Consequently, the judgment made under such circumstance appears to be dull and meaningless to most of the majority.

Admittedly, some may argue that critical judgment from experts in any field is valuable since they are well-trained and full of great insights into their specialties. For example, Gordon Ramsay, one of the most famous chef from the UK, is notoriously renowned for its brutally honest yet insightful comments. Because of him expertise in culinary, he is able to notice even a minor mistakes made by his fellows and he will dare to correct them in their faces. However, that’s not always the case.

To sum up, as mentioned above, I firmly disagree with the statement which asserts that critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.