In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that in an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County has managed to lower speed limit but it was in vain. Therefore, it is suggested that Prunty County should follow what Butler County has done. The suggestion appears to be logical at first glance, however, upon closer examination, there are some specific evidences needed in order to strengthen the argument. I shall explore in the following essay.

First of all, the statistic about accidents happened on highway remains specious. Although the speed limit is reduced, there is no sign that the accidents have decreased. However, the argument fail to provide some evidences to justify the correlation between speed limit and accidents. For example, accidents can be classified in several types and speeding is just one of them. The argument shall provide statistics which precludes accidents other than caused by speeding. Otherwise, the statistic is considered biased when speeding contribute none of the accidents. Thus, in order to enhance its suggestion, the argument has to provide evidences about the statistic.

Secondly, the argument avers that the constructions made in Butler County can be viable in Prunty County to reduce the accident. This suggestion sounds reasonable in the first place, however, the argument should offer specific evidences to indicate that the constructions in Butler is necessary in Prunty as well. It fails to scrutinize and include the existing conditions in Prunty County. What if the highway has already been wide enough in Prunty County and there is no need and space to expand more lanes? If the intersections in Prunty County have been remarkably highlighted yet there is no room for any further improvement? Maybe highways in Prunty County have undergone a series of reconstructions but the accidents still happen. Consequently, the argument shall take the initial highways condition into account to warrant its suggestion.

Finally, even though the assumptions are not true. The 25-percent reduction of accidents requires more evidences to support its validity. What has Butler County done actually contribute this reduction? If there are other precautions have been promoted or drivers in Butler County are becoming more aware of traffic accidents and manage to avoid ones as many as possible? We cannot guarantee that the 25-percent reduction of accidents comes from the constructions which have been done in Butler County. Consequently, it is necessary for the argument to provide the evidences to warrant its suggestion.

To sum up, the suggestion proposed by the argument make a logical sense in an attempt to reduce accidents reported on highways. However, there are some specific evidences to be unveiled in order to strengthen its suggestion. That is, the guaranteed validity of the statistic, the necessity of the modifying existing highways and the authentic meaning regarding to the 25-percent reduction which has been reported in Butler County 5 years ago.