Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

The statement asserts that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; therefore, students cannot be motivated by school or college alone. Although the statement makes a logical sense at first glance, I firmly disagree with its statement and I shall explore in the following essay.

To begin with, students are driven by curiosity and they are pursuing all kind of knowledge whatever they are interested in. To be sure, what students choose to learn is indeed a personal matter. However, places such as school and colleges provide an impeccable platform for students to discover what they yearn for as well as provide handful resources for them the pursue knowledge they desire. A compelling example is, in Taiwan, some colleges provide an academic year for students without requiring them to major in a specific subject. On the contrary, students are encouraged to enroll in classes from different field of study. It is believed that such studying pattern can help students unveil their aptitudes and their talents. Consequently, even though learning is regarded as personal discipline, school and college can still offer motivation for students to obtain knowledge they want.

Additionally, one cannot learn more without learning from others. That is, although learning is a personal issue, learning alone is meaningless and in vain. No student is omniscience and one will be confronted with blind sides. Therefore, learning knowledge with others are crucial for others can provide different viewpoints and may revolutionized your thoughts. Generally, schools and colleges are the best places for students to learn from each other. One example of mine is when I was in a biology class. My friends and I were preparing a presentation and suddenly one of person in my group mentioned frogs don’t have lungs, they breathe with their skins. However, not all of others agreed with this statement and we started doing research. Some look up the textbooks while others surf the Internet to find the most appropriate answer. Even though it was just a trivial statement, my friends and I were driven to find the real answer. Surprisingly, it only took us 15 minutes to find the answer and during the process when we did research, we had learnt more than we had in a three-hour lecture. Were it not for this studying group in my class, I wouldn’t have been so motivated and learnt so much in a short time.

Admittedly, learning is a matter of personal issue. If a student is apathetic about gaining knowledge and he or she cannot find meanings by doing so. There is nothing can motivate he or she, let alone school or college.

However, it is not always that case. Normally, students desire to find their interests and school and college surely provide motivation to help them to do so. Since places like school and college are perfect for students to drain knowledge and discover what they yearn for as well as a universal platforms for students to learn from each other.