Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

I mostly agree with the statement that personal discipline is primarily was drives learning. An argument can be made for the importance of school but the conclusion that it can not stand alone is a factual one for many reasons.

First off, school or university would certainly be a factor in learning. I can see how some would argue that it is the biggest factor.Considering the long waiting lists for top preschools, it is clear people put a lot of faith in the best enviorment.A great teacher with individualized methods would certainly inspire effort from even the least motivated student.Not to mention, the drive of competition and a reward system with their peers would be a benefit. This ties into the admisson process of many colleges. If a student is interested in a coveted program, they would need the grades and acedemic standing to earn such an honor. The issue with this argument is that grades do not always reflect learning. We've seen many top universities under fire for students taking unprescribed medications and resorting to cheating in order to achieve their goals.

Second, learning is a lifelong experience and does not only happen in school.There are many ways to learn and having the personal discipline to give focussed attention to a task would be necessary. Outside of the classroom, it is important for students to review and complete assignments designed to better understand the carricculum. There also diffrent types of learners and schools or colleges cant provide individualized support for everyone. For example, some students learn best while watching while others need to have hands on learning. It would be the resposibility of the student and their parent to come up with strategies that fit their abilities and strengths. Person discipline would be a large factor here.

Finally, the most skilled and qualified teacher would not be able to force information on a student. According to Confucius "interest is the best teacher." When a student has their own personal passion for a subject, the sky's the limit. They are more inclined to use their free time to dig deeper and ask more questions. In the digital age, there is a wealth of knowledge to be explored and a student would be restricted to the school or college they attend for information. Learning can be achieved from a mutitude of sources, including personal experience. There are students in third world countries with less than half the US resources who push to succeed in acedemia regardless.

In conclusion, while school has a large role, it can not stand alone without dicipline. There have been many occurances of a students dicipline leading to remarkable accomplishments in learning without much support from insituions.