The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The manager of WWAC radio station suggests changing the rock-music format to something that might better apeal to general population. Because the population growth was mainly due to retirees joining the listening area, the plan is to reformat to a news and talk format. While the memorandum does a sufficient job outlining the argument's train of thought, there is more evidence needed to properly analyze this conclusion.

Firstly, the manager fails to give sufficient evidence for the decline in listener numbers being due to format. Have there been other fluctuations besides the seniors moving into the area? Could another rock-music station have begun to poach the former listeners? If this is the case, the proposed solution no longer seems to be the best course of action. There is no evidence stated that demonstates a lack of community interest in rock style music.

Second, the author does not give enough reason to believe the elderly residents would not have an affinity for music. As stated in the memorandum, many of these seniors are retired. Shopping for records may not be on their list of priorities at this stage in life. Any records they deemed worth having might already be in their inventory. To make such a general assumption on a whole demographic is an unwise reason to change the whole structure of a station.

Lastly, the manager does not provide any alternative explanations as to why the public interests have shifted. There are other equally plausable circumstances that could be at fault. The news might be a more popular choice for listeners because of political or pressing matters. Is it possible that this dip happened during an election or after some sort of natural disaster? Without the answers to these questions, the reader can not draw a conclusion based on vague and pointed evidence.

In conclusion, this argument does not hold water. There are many unanswered questions and the reasoning is one sided. While the writer explains where their conclusion comes from, they fail to entertain any other possibilities. This leaves too many holes to be considered a sound argument.