Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The article states that omega university implemented a new program whereby students have the ability to evaluate professors. The author believes abolishing this method of rating will result in a more accurate grading scale. The school will then reestablish a trusted reputation. This argument, though it seems sound, has a few missing pieces of evidence before it can be deemed air tight logic.

The author states that grades went up by 30% since this plan was implemented but doesn't give sufficient evidence as to the correlation. Nor does it specify these potential employers that are overlooking the students. If the students are doing better in their courses, wouldn't it be possible that this new procedure was not the cause? The students might have realized their voices matter and became more vocal about their needs for better learning. This too would lead to improvements across the board.

Furthermore, the fact that teachers are evaluated does not neccesarily mean they would feel incentive to cushion grades. It may very well lead to them attempting new tactics and rising to the challenge of becoming more effective teachers. If this were the case, students having higher grades would be a direct reflection of their efforts.

Lastly, there is not sufficient information about the evaluation technique implemented. Are the students to evaluate teachers before or after the term is finished? If the evaluation is turned in before the grades are final, professors have no reason to boost grades as incentive for higher marks.

While the author's assumption here isn't entirely unfounded, they have not sufficiently backed their claim or reccomendation with the information mentioned above. If any of these alternate examples turned out to be the case, the argument would not hold water.