The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. I firmly disagree with it and I shall provide more details in the following essay.

To begin with, the surest indicator of a great nation doesn’t reflect what people really are in such nation. People may lead a miserable live, sacrificing themselves to contribute their country’s greatness. For example, Nazi German during 1930s. The country was considered one of the most powerful country of its time, resurging from a misery and reanimating its finance and expand its military force shortly after World War I. However, as great as the Nazi German may seem, it has sacrificed its people’s welfare in order to achieve greatness. Jewish people are the case in point. Due to the historical and political hatred against them, Jewish people were discriminated and even forced to leave their country. Albert Einstein, the greatest physicist, was a victim at that time, who eventually fled to the US.

Additionally, a great nation is usually being considered one by its outstanding artistic or scientific achievements from its people instead of the welfare from the whole. For example, in China’s history, the Ming Dynasty which reigned most of the continent at 14th century, was considered the most powerful country compared to England, Spain and Dutch. It introduced great amount of inventions and goods to the east by Arab people and European were amazed by the elaborated goods such as well-painted china, a piece of pottery which contained complex drawing of animals on it. Also, the introduced of silk, food, even bombs from Ming Dynasty changed western people’s view dramatically. However, the Ming Dynasty was considered the most chaotic period through Chinese history, most rulers were incompetent and people were living in misery. There were a lot of disasters so corps could not grow. What made it worse was the government still managed to exploit people by requiring more tax. People eventually fought back and overthrew the dynasty.

Admittedly, some argues that the general welfare of its people is the finest indicator to a great country. Take, Japan after World War II, for example. They lost the war and the economy was in depression while people were exhausted and diffident. However, they stood up quickly as the government passed laws to reconstruct the country, introducing social welfare to encourage people to get back to normal life, and therefore rebuild their home without major obstacles. That’s a reason why Japan is considered a great nation at this point.

To sum up, the surest indicator of a great nation is not represented by the general welfare of its people. As mentioned above, there are many “great” countries yet their people are leading in a miserable lives. Therefore, I firmly disagree with the statement’s claim.