If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

The statements avers that as long as a goal is worthy, then any means taken to accomplish it are justifiable. There are some definitions required to be done in order to better assess the statement. However, I agree with this statement under certain circumstance. I shall elaborate my thoughts in the following essay.

To begin with, there is a qualification needed to better assess the statement. First, how to determine if a goal is worthy? Generally, a worthy goal means it brings achievements to people in the form of anything possible such as fame and fortune. Moreover, if a goal is beneficial from any aspect, achieving such goal is essentially considered worthy of doing so. For example, in order to alleviate global warming, a government can pass certain acts to prohibit factories to emit excess gaseous chemical into the air and require them to install the latest purifying machines. The acts surely burden these factories’ financial situation; however, compared to saving the world from destruction, such regulations seem to be reasonable and justifiable. Therefore, if the goal is considered benign and necessary, every mean to achieve it is justifiable.

However, not every goal is based on positive purpose. There are goals that are based on self-interests and do nothing but harm to others. For example, during 1930s, the Nazi German’s epic resurgence from World War I was considered the most crucial goal by the contemporary government. When Adolf Hitler reigned the country, he carried out a series of policies in order to reconstruct the post-war German. However, some policies seriously violent citizens’ rights. Tragically, the Nazi German regarded races other than pure Aryan as filthy, second-rated races and decided to engage in an elimination activities. Among the oppressed races, the Jewish were the most miserable. Some are lucky enough to escape and stay in other countries while others were slaughtered merciless by the Nazi German. Albert Einstein, one of the most influential physicist, was forced to flee to the US and could no longer return to his country. The Nazi German’s goal was to make the country great again. However, what the government has done was never considered justifiable. Thus, the statement is fallacious under such circumstances.

Finally, I firmly believe that only under certain situations will the statement be valid. As mentioned above, as long as the goal is beneficial to the majority and it does not result from a terrible consequence.