The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument recommends the directors from Bargain Brand Cereals to expand their business and begin marketing more low-priced products because of the company’s preceding success on their low-priced cereal product. However, there are some questions needed to be addressed in order to justify the recommendation.

The first question needed to be answered is: is their first low-priced product actually successful, or it is just a hit among customers. As the argument suggests, the low-priced cereal drew customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. The phenomena appears to be fallacious, however, since the product may be exaggeratedly advertised as the best bargain and attracts customers to purchase or simply give it a try. Therefore, without answering the issue above, we cannot ensure if the success from Bargain Brand Cereals’ new product actually lives up its name, or it is only a transitory trend in the market.

Secondly, the other question is drawn due to the lack of information of products from the competitors. Although the argument states that no other new products and marketing strategies from the competitors are frightening, the success of the low-priced cereal is unstable because it fails to take the existing top-brand products into account. Customers prone to choose top-brand products to secure safety and quality and these products usually come along with a large number of loyal buyers. Even though Bargain Brand Cereals’ new product overpowers others, its influence on those existing products remains unknown. If the new low-priced cereal can also replace top-selling cereal that are on people’s shelves for years? Without realizing the answer to this question, the recommendation is vulnerable.

Finally, although Bargain Brand Cereal wants to expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible, it calls into question that if the profit made in the first year is adequate to cover the following investment. Both expanding business and experimenting new products require time and money and it probably won’t be success. We have to know if the profit earned with low-priced cereal is enough to support not only ongoing business, but also to its expansion, including constructing factory sites, hiring new employees and investing new flavor for potential products. Thus, the amount of profit earned previously and the cost of upcoming projects are necessary to better evaluate the recommendation.

In sum, the argument makes a sense financially and logically. However, there are some questions need to be addressed before we justify the recommendation. That is, if the low-priced cereal is successful enough or just a fading trend, if the cereal can beat other existing top brand cereals from the competitors and if the profit earned by it can cover the potential investment and support the business to continue flourishing.