Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance

The statements asserts that teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance. It is true that with the presence of dedicated teachers, students can have better grades. However, such achievement cannot be done only with teachers; therefore, I firmly disagree with the statement since academic performance is not objective enough to decide teachers’ salaries.

To begin with, academic subjects are generally referred to subjects such as Math, Physics and Literature. Since people usually pay more attention on those subjects, other subjects such as Physical Education, Music and Art are not typically regarded equally important. So, it is necessary to define the scope of “academic performance” in order to better evaluate this statement.

Generally, when people talk about a decent academic performance, they tend to think of a straight-A or an average 3.8 GPA on transcripts. However, not every students is capable of achieving decent grades on all subjects equally. For example, what if a student is interested in French but not in Biology and he performs better in French class than in Biology class. Does it indicate that his French teacher is more dedicated and should gain more salary than his biology teacher does? Maybe that student love French so much and he has spent every minutes on it; therefore, obtain better score than other subjects. It is unreasonable if we decide teachers’ salaries on their students' academic performance since students have prominent talents and interests in specific subjects while perform relatively poorly on others.

Secondly, teachers’ salaries should not be based on their students' academic performance since teachers are sometimes assigned different tasks to help students. Teaching is just one of their duties. There are teachers having no classes but also contribute students’ well-beings. For example, counseling teachers or normally called School Counselors are teaching no subjects but still have great influence on students. They provide academic, career and social-emotional competencies to all students. Their services have nothing to do with academic performance mentioned above. They help students to find their ways to their future as well as assist students to overcome emotional stress. It is demonstrable that their services can have positive impact on students’ academic performance. However, it is more like a complementary effect accompanied with their services since they mainly handle students’ mental problems. Once these problems are solved, students can be more focus on their academic life and obtain better performance.

However, some may argue that students' academic performance reflect directly to their teachers’ dedication. After all, students need to interact with their teachers for years and if teachers neglect their duty, students cannot be inspired to learn and surely cannot gain decent grades.

However, it is not adequate to consider students’ academic performance as a factor to decide teachers’ salaries. Since students have different aptitudes and varied interests in different subjects. Moreover, there are teachers have no classes but devote themselves to assist students to overcome their problems. Therefore, it is unreasonable to take students’ academic performance into consideration when deciding teachers’ salaries.