The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that due to the harsh winter that people have experienced as well the growth of population in northeastern United States, it calls for the investment in consolidated industries whose one of the major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. The argument seems logical at first glance, however, upon closer examination, there are some assumptions needed to be justified to strengthen its recommendation; otherwise, the argument is not persuasive.

First of all, the argument asserts that people in northeastern United States have experienced a serious winter and climate forecasters predict it will continue for several more years. Although the argument makes a logical sense, however, we cannot ensure that if the upcoming weather prediction is valid or not. There is no way we can guarantee the future weather conditions and the assumptions may be fallacious since if a milder winter or a hotter one happen in the next year, the investment in heating oil may appear to be redundant. Also, the argument posits the climate forecasters’ prediction. Is there another prediction which holds an opposite opinion? If so, it weakens the assumptions and therefore the investment is unnecessary. Thus, the argument should assure that the prediction about weather conditions is valid to support its recommendation; otherwise the correctness of it is in doubt.

Secondly, the argument avers that in order to meet the growth of population and meet the need of expansion in the region, the investment in heating oil is indispensable. The recommendation seems to be true, but the argument mistakenly assume that no people are moving out as well. People who have lived in this area can also move out for various reasons. For example, workers who find jobs in other regions may choose to move out with their families. Given that situation to be true, the need to invest heating oil is unnecessary since new residents can simply buy an existing house as well as used applications.

Moreover, a further flaw is, even though the assumptions mentioned above is valid, the argument seems to omit the correlation between the demands of heating oil and the growth of population. If the growth of population does necessitate the investment in heating oil? New residents may choose to use electrical applications such as a heater to replace a traditional one, which is powered by heating oil. If so, the investment in heating oil will not work. What type of heating applications will people choose to use? We don’t know that. Consequently, the argument has to warrantee the assumption in order to justify its recommendation.

To sum up, the argument seems to be reasonable, however, additional information is needed to be added: the validity of weather prediction, the solid indication of population growth and the residents’ choices regarding to the heating applications.