Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. However, I firmly disagree with this statement. I shall elaborate my idea in the following essay.

To begin with, the governments need to consider what has contributed the immediate problems and what other problem will them bring on us. Without figuring out the essence of a problem, resolving an immediate problem seems to be endless. For example, there was a river called Love River in Taiwan which was notoriously renown for its dirty water. The government had done a lot to clean its water, such as introducing water purifier near the upper steam and collecting garbage under the water periodically. However, all of these effort appeared to be in vain. The water still looked dirty once for a while. In the end, the government found the major reason for its dirtiness: it was the soil composition that reacted to the water and therefore contributed the foggy-looking appearance. The government eventually sought a technological way in using environmentally friendly artificial compound to neutralize the chemical under the water. After that, the Love River became cleaner.

Additionally, the government should realize it is financially burdened to focus on solving the immediate problems of today, especially the government cannot deal with it once at a time. For example, in New York City the government managed to alleviate the traffic issue. There were too many automobiles reportedly so the traffic was horrible during rush hours. The government decided to build more parking lot for drivers so they thought there wouldn’t be so many cars on street at the same time. However, what they did not realize was that an extra space for cars actually encourage people to drive. After a few months of the policy, the government found that not only did the number of drivers not decline, but also the expensive cost for building parking lots have burden their budget.

Admittedly, some may argue that handling immediate problems is critical since they are affecting our lives right now and the government should focus on them instead of problems that potentially have impact on our lives. For example, poverty is an important issue and the government really need to take it seriously. There are some policies helping the poor, such as tuition support for people to receive education, job affairs only exclusive people under poverty line and so on. However, problems like poverty cannot be eliminated if the governments only provide temporary assistance.

To sum up, the governments should not focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. As mentioned above, I firmly disagree with the statement.