It is more harmful to compromise one’s own beliefs than adhere to them.

Beliefs are integral part of our lives and we live with these established beliefs. However, sometimes one must compromise his or her own beliefs. The situation is dependent on what people are confronting with. Therefore, I firmly disagree with the statement and I think it does no harm when people compromise their beliefs.

To begin with, a belief can be an incentive, an inspiration for people to lead a life they desire. With a belief, people are motivated to achieve something in their lives. For example, people want to be teachers believe the value of education, people who join an environmental campaign believe the importance of protecting the Mother Nature. However, sometimes reality may just knock people down and their beliefs along are no longer viable. For example, in early 1970s in Taiwan, a tragedy happened as an engineer was amputated due to a car accident: he lost both of his arms. Inevitably, he was forced to resign his job. Instead of being extremely sorrowful and anxious; however, he took the accident as an opportunity and decided to start a new life. Years later, he became a professional painter, mainly used his legs to draw. Reportedly, he once thought it was the end of his life as soon as his career as an engineer was forced to shut down; yet he found a new belief in life: a belief of aesthetics. Because he did not stick the beliefs in his old day, he was able to discover a whole new world in his life.

Secondly, one’s beliefs can be altered since a belief is established through the process of one’s physical and mental development. It is unrealistic to ensure that people would never change their mind throughout their lives. Therefore it is normal for one to change his or her beliefs and there is nothing wrong with it. For example, in Taiwan, according to a statistic made by an organization, which has been working on analyzing children’s mental development for years and asserted that children’s mind was so complicated and variable that traditional statistics could not predict what was going to pop up in their brain. For children, beliefs for them could be as simple as affection for their parents or as intriguing as their imaginary world that adults often consider an adorable nonsense. Such dramatic variation is because different stages of children’s growing process certain reacts differently to the outside world and their innate personalities. Moreover, the statistics indicate that adults alike are experiencing the same process with a comparably slower changes. It is just so subtle that it may take years for adults to realize the difference. For example, looking back to your youth, you can stay up late, go out and party all night. How about now? That’s the idea.

However, sometimes a belief remains unchanged and last forever, such beliefs can be found within people with great achievements. They stick to their beliefs and keep moving forward to accomplish their beliefs. For example, Albert Einstein, who was the most influential physicist in 20th century, against all odd, introduced the world his famous creation: The Theory of Relativity. However, his success did not come with ease. First of all, he was Jewish living in Nazi German, which has engaged in a serious oppression against non-Arian peoples mercilessly. Second, he had a lot of enemies in his heyday and most of whom simply disdained his discovery and researches. However, he did not succumb to the unfavorable situation. He held his belief in science and himself then successfully create the masterpiece: The Theory of Relativity, and greatly changed the way people viewed the universe ever since.

To sum up, essentially it is no harm if one compromise his or her beliefs since sometimes changing is inevitable and people may discover a whole new, even better world. Moreover, adhering one’s own beliefs is great. Upholding one’s belief can surely achieve something remarkable as well.