Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that, according to the survey, people are reported to have longer commuting time than it was three years ago so the traffic becomes problematic in Waymarsh. Therefore, the argument suggests to implement the policy which has been carried out in Garville last year and successfully solved the traffic issue there. However, the suggestion appear to be specious upon closer examination since it fails to include some specific evidences that may weaken the argument.

First of all, the argument cites the data from a previously done survey and it shows that people’s commuting time are 20 minutes longer than it was 3 years ago. Therefore, it is suggested that implementing should help alleviate the situation. However, the argument doesn’t provide some specific evidences about the survey and its content to determine if the data which is collected with it is valid or not. For example, the survey may have largely targeted people who don’t commute to their workplaces 3 year ago, and it certainly leads to a significantly lower commuting time. Also, is the commuting time a focused question on that survey or it’s just a question on a 10-page questionnaire? People tend to get rid of tediously long page by randomly giving answers to fill the sheet as soon as possible. Consequently, without the presence of the evidences of the survey, the argument appears to be specious.

Secondly, the argument asserts that the policy which has been implemented in Garville can also relieve the traffic situation here in Waymarsh. Although it seems logical and applicable, the argument neglect some vital evidences to strengthen its suggestion. For example, the difference of jobs engaged by people from these cities may react differently to the policy. If in Garville there is a centralized industrial or business area, people can surely share rides to work since a large amount of employees work in a same place whereas people in Waymarsh may work at different places which are far from each other, the share-ride policy is certainly not working. Thus, the argument has to provide more specific evidences of these cities to enhance its suggestion.

Finally, even though the above situations aren’t happening, the argument cannot posit that the reduction of pollution can be achieved with the policy in Waymarsh as it does in Garville. We have to ensure the evidence that the pollution in Waymarsh is mainly from vehicles. Granted that the emission of gas from vehicles can cause environmental pollution, we cannot warrant the pollution in Waymarsh is due to large quantity of vehicles. For example, the air pollution may be exacerbated by local factories where people burn charcoal and produce carbon dioxide and other toxic compounds. If this is true, then the reduce of vehicles seems to be in vain to lower pollution level in Waymarsh.

To sum up, although the argument seems to be logical and provide a constructive suggestion. There are some specific evidences are required, however, to guarantee its suggestion is well-supported. In order to make the argument more persuasive and believable, evidences such as the validity of the survey and its content, the difference between the essence of working areas in Waymarsh and Garville as well as the main source of pollution in Waymarsh are important to better assess the argument.