To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

The statement asserts that to be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. I firmly agree with this statement and I shall elaborate my thoughts in the following essay.

To begin with, contrary to law which force people to follow basic rules, ethic and morality are shaped, developed by individuals as well as societies. People regard morality as a baseline of behaviors and any violation of morality is unacceptable. Therefore, in order to be an efficient leader, a public official is expected to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards as a leader serves as an example of the citizens. Otherwise, the authority becomes worthless and despicable once a leader cannot even scrutinize his own behaviors. For example, if a prime minister is involved in a bribery and yet his propaganda promotes an idea of honesty. Is it persuasive for the citizens when the prime minister cannot live up his own words? Consequently, in order to be an effective as well as convincing leader, it is crucial for public officials to obtain and uphold the highest ethical and moral standards

Secondly, public officials are meant to serve their citizens and societies. In return, citizens pay taxes and some of which become public officials’ salaries. In other words, public officials and their citizens have developed a reciprocal relationship with each other. Therefore, since citizens believe the contribute money to pay public officials’, they always expect them to be a group of decent, dedicated people. To be concise, if public officials do not behave well or even neglect of their duty, citizens may become fierce. For example, police officers are expected to help and protect citizens. However, once they have commit malfeasance, such as shooting people at their will, beating prisoners or get involved into scandals, citizens would become outrageous and force the government punish them. Because citizens consider police officers justice and it is unacceptable of them to betray any basic moral standard. Also, citizens may disregard any word from police officers if any of these incident happens. Therefore, a chaotic society may appear since polices have lost trust in their citizens.

Admittedly, some may argue that it is unnecessary to examine so closely to a public official’s moral practice since what they have contributed to his society and citizens is the only thing matters. For example, throughout human history, there are a lot of tyrants who is famous for their brutal regime over a country, yet they still contribute great cultural, civil and even technological improvement of their times. However, that not always the case.

As mentioned above, it is indispensable for a public official to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards in order to be an effective leader. Since a leader is required to be persuasive and trustworthy. Moreover, a public official is expected to serve his citizens to contribute a better society. Therefore, I firmly agree with the statement.